Hen Frigates : Wives of Merchant Captains Under Sail

By: Druett,Joan

Price: $6.50

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Used - Good


Druett,Joan Hen Frigates: Wives Of Merchant Captains Under Sail Edge and corner wear to dust jacket. Creases to dust jacket. Dust jacket is in good condition. Edge and corner wear to book. Pages still clean and tight. Book is in good condition. All U.S. orders shipped with tracking numbers and e-mail confirmations. All Orders Shipped With Tracking And Delivery Confirmation Numbers.


More Description


In the tradition of The Midwife's Tale and Pioneer Women -- an intimate portrait of the courageous wives of sailing ship captains in the last century, told for the first time in their own words, through journals and letters.

Maritime historian Joan Druett takes us into the wildly colorful, dangerous, and most of all romantic world of seafaring women who left friends and families behind to join their husbands at sea.

On board a "hen frigate" (any ship with the captain's wife aboard), a woman grappled with loneliness and boredom as she strove to create a home on a wind-driven freighter at sea. A deft historical interpreter, Druett interweaves the first-person accounts of these remarkable wives and daughters with the lyrical narrative of a sea journey -- from home port to foreign port. The true stories of what they encountered on their often amazing voyages -- from romantic, moonlit nights on deck to harrowing encounters with sea-sickness, storms, and even pirates -- are more fascinating that any sailor's yarn.

Lavishly illustrated with authentic seascape and maritime portraits, this path-breaking volume transports readers back to the golden age of sail. Hal Roth, author of After Fifty Thousand Miles, heralds Hen Frigates as "wonderful writing and research about American heroines of the sea".

Title: Hen Frigates : Wives of Merchant Captains Under Sail

Author Name: Druett,Joan

Categories: Boats Hard Cover,

Publisher: Simon & Schuster: 1998/06/01 00:00:00.000

ISBN Number: 0684839687

ISBN Number 13: 9780684839684

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Used - Good

Seller ID: 262800